The Impersonator #FridayFotoFiction

plumber

 

I walk towards the corner house taking unruffled strides. I am a plumber today. Impersonation is an integral part of my job. I ring the bell and find myself face to face with a woman who looks as desolate as the house.

Soon I am inside, fixing the kitchen sink. Like a man on a mission, I stealthily divulge a camera from my pocket and tiptoe towards the bedroom.

“Why do you live with this beast? He thrashed you again yesterday, didn’t he? And then forced himself on you?” I hear a man’s voice.

“I want to run away but I do not have the courage,”  the woman answers dolefully.

“I am there, I will help you out,” the man retorts.

Just then my phone rings.

“No sir, your wife is not seeing another man”, I find myself answering.

Sometimes, the detective in me is overpowered by humanity. Sometimes…

 

(149 words)

Linking up  with Tina and Mayuri

Friday-Foto-Fiction

About Meha Sharma

Dreamer,Writer,Mother,Fauji wife...all while striving to overcome something called 'Procrastination' :) I dabble in writing and write for @huffpostindia, @womensweb , @mycity4kids. I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I now pass on my wisdom to management students. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in #FridayFotoFiction, Flash Fiction, Social Lens. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to The Impersonator #FridayFotoFiction

  1. sukrisblog says:

    It feels good to know there is some goodness too on the other side.. not all are bad. Nice take on the prompt.

  2. Being human tides over all the calls of the duties! Touching take on the prompt Meha. You kept me glued till end.

  3. A great take. Humanity comes before duty for some.

  4. Ravi Sidula says:

    Wow that was a nice twist but with a bitter truth. Nice, liked it

  5. Mayuri6 says:

    Brilliant take on the prompt, Meha!
    Though i would say he didn’t do right to his profession, by letting his personal feelings take over.
    Thank you for writing for #FridayFotoFiction

  6. Rashmi says:

    Oh this was lovely! So positive 🙂 Nicely done- so much told in so few words!

  7. Tina Basu says:

    That’s a touching story Meha. Thanks for linking up with #FridayFotoFiction.

Leave a Reply

