Yearning #FridayFotoFiction

 

 

flash fiction writing #FridayFotoFiction Photo Prompt

 

The shop was abuzz with women thronging the place like bees collecting nectar. As I stood in the corner, I could not help but notice the excitement on their faces whenever they tried on a new dress.

They adorned themselves in exquisite clothes and then bought the ones they loved. I felt a tinge of envy whenever I saw them.

I wore clothes based on the whims and fancies of someone else. How I wished to wear what took my fancy!

But, I had a secret. Every night when the dusk fell and the shop was closed for the day, I would come alive and saunter in the shop slowly gazing through all those pretty dresses and trying on the ones that I loved. At that moment I could be ‘me’.

Who would have known, I also had dreams.

After all I was just a mannequin.

 

(146 Words)

Linking up  with Tina and Mayuri

Friday-Foto-Fiction

 

About Meha Sharma

Dreamer,Writer,Mother,Fauji wife...all while striving to overcome something called 'Procrastination' :) I dabble in writing and write for @huffpostindia, @womensweb , @mycity4kids. I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I now pass on my wisdom to management students. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in #FridayFotoFiction, Flash Fiction. Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Yearning #FridayFotoFiction

  1. personofication my old freind…

  2. Agree Meha, even mannequins might have secret desires! The secret was well wrapped till end that added to the interest quotient of the story.

  3. Ah the untold secrets of Mannequins! Interesting read Tina i loved it 🙂

  4. Amrita says:

    A very interesting twist to the tale.Loved how the story is written.

  5. beautiful post. Living on the whims and fancies of others is not just the role of mannequins. Many people live such lives too.

  6. Alice Gerard says:

    This is great! I can see this as a ballet!

  7. sukrisblog says:

    Awesome take on the prompt. Everyone has secret desires and just like us humans everything around also do. A suspense well maintained till the end.

  8. I have always wondered what if they had life in them. Loved reading this. Different take. And a good one too. 🙂

  9. Rajlakshmi says:

    Ahha sneaky mannequin. Nice wist in the end.

  10. Thoughts from the other side. Fab debut on #FridayFotoFiction, Meha!
    Thank you for writing!

  11. BellyBytes says:

    I’d have never guessed that. I actually thought it was a cross dresser!

  12. Tina Basu says:

    Wow Meha this was wonderful. I like. Thanks for linking up with #FridayFotoFiction.

  13. Tina Basu says:

    Hi Meha, couldn’t find you on Twitter. We selected your post as a featured post on #FridayFotoFiction this week. please get in touch with me, need your photo for the certificate. You can DM or mail me.

  14. Nice one Meha! Lateral thinking at its best😊

  15. rashimital says:

    Haha. This is a super piece. Who knows there is world for the mannequin too. Like a hidden world in our world. No wonder your story is a featured post. Congrats, Meha 🙂

Leave a Reply

