Why Valentine’s Day makes me jittery!!

reanti-valentines-day5Well, it is that time of the year again. The month which brims with days like ‘Chocolate Day’, ‘Hug Day’, ‘Kiss Day’, is here. Thereafter comes the final seal on the multitudes of these mushy days we have been witnessing since the very onset of the sloppy month of February. It is the day of love- ‘Valentine’s Day’. On this day, love oozes out from all quarters like cheese from Domino’s pizza. Couples, who may be in their belligerent best avatars round the year, too succumb to the mere mushiness that the day brings along and profess their love for each other.

Flowers are bought, chocolates and big teddy bears (I mean, come on, how an adult can take fancy to a grotesquely massive bear) are chosen as a token of love to commemorate this day. Does this look real to you? To me somehow it does not. I believe Valentine’s Day is just a day that is thrust upon us mortals and we are trying our best to live up to it each year, however weary we are.

Every year on the fourteenth of February, I feel jittery. I feel unnerved because I am constantly worried that if I do not indulge in anything mushy, however corny it might appear, I might be labeled as a heartless soul.

The thing is, I have been married for seven years. And in these years, me and my husband have displayed our love for each other, constantly and abundantly. And when we procreated, it became all the more special. I feel his love for me, when he lets me sleep those extra hours and watches over my daughter, I feel all loved when he makes those random calls from work and asks me breezily, ‘’How’s your day coming along”? And yes we do say those three words, just that with a toddler in tow, they are usually replaced by “I am tired”.

So, when Valentine’s Day beseeches us, we do not see the point of going that extra mile for each other, because we do it each day both knowingly and unknowingly, out of sheer love for each other. Love is not an emotion that can be churned out on a particular day because the world is doing so, and if it is so then something is certainly amiss. Love is there in those little moments spent in each other’s company, love is knowing the other person with all his/her quirkiness and so love is to be celebrated on all days not just one.

About Meha Sharma

Dreamer,Writer,Mother,Fauji wife...all while striving to overcome something called 'Procrastination' :) I dabble in writing and write for @huffpostindia, @womensweb , @mycity4kids. I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I now pass on my wisdom to management students. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

