No Ordinary Woman

 

 

She was a woman ordinary, she believed,

There was nothing in her which

stood out as exemplary, she believed.

 

Born and brought up in the labyrinths of

alleys mundane,

She clobbered her way amidst the siblings

thinking she was just a Plain Jane.

 

Reading and writing made her

exhilarated to the core,

It brought home the idea,

that this was not her lone shore.

 

She came of age

And marriage beckoned.

May be it would accentuate her flights of fantasy,

she reckoned.

 

She was transformed from a carefree girl

to a wife by the sands of time.

The husband of her felt,

having dreams of her own were nothing

short of a crime.

She persevered the daily abuse,

“Bear with it” her mother told,

Lest you will end up

being a recluse.

 

But, “A woman is like a tea bag,

You never know how strong she is until

she is in hot water”,

somewhere she read.

She was determined, “I will not be a victim of domestic abuse

and live forever in dread”.

 

She was a woman ordinary, she no longer believed

There was nothing in her which

stood out as exemplary, she no longer believed..

 

 

About Meha Sharma

Well, before I took the plunge to be a mom and be a part of the chaotic yet amusing world of motherhood, I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I never thought I would bid adieu to the life of a full time working professional, but that was before I held the tiny little pink 'thing' in my hands.I am a stay at home mom to a shiny three and a half year old toddler. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

