Five things I will not do in 2016…

So, it is this time of the year again when we hear people rant about new year resolutions and what they learnt from the year that bid adieu and how hopeful they are about the coming year. As I contemplated on how 2015 treated me, I could not help think about things that I will not do in 2016. I am incorrigible when it comes to doing things as planned. But still, rather than bragging about what all I did last year, I would rather chant about what I would not do this coming year.

In 2016, I would not do the following:

I will not Procrastinate: I am an out an out winner when it comes to putting off things that I resolve to do. “Time and tide waits for none “is not one of my favourite dictums, I must say. The Charvak philosophy of ‘eat, drink and be merry’ was something I relished in the philosophy class. But, alas, life is not so easy and one has to do things and not just think about doing them all day long and then, sleep with the thought that I will do it first thing in the morning. So, well, yes, less of procrastination for me this year.

I will not brood over things: Yes, I am a brooder, as in a serial brooder. I brood about why so and so has not answered my call as yet to why my daughter did not wave me goodbye while going to school. I also brood over whether I said something too sternly or I was way too soft. Excessive brooding has not done any good to my brain cells. So, I pledge to do less of it and live in the moment.

I will not care so much about what people think: I like to be liked. I bet everyone does but in a bid to win people’s approval I often go out of my way. Remember that Aesop folklore about the ‘man, a boy and a donkey’?http://www.taleswithmorals.com/aesop-fable-the-man-the-boy-and-the-donkey.htm So, it is practically impossible to please one and all. I have wasted oodles of time and energy in an attempt to please people. But this year I would not succumb to the pressures of public approval. I so hope I stick to it.

I will not be rigid about accepting the changes in my life: Yes, another year flew away on a ‘winged chariot’. The only thing that is constant in life is change. Things are changing every second. Our priorities keep altering. We are aging (yes, growing up is a better way to say this J ). So, this year I want to accept changes and embrace them with open arms.

I will not spend hours on social networking sites: The day is not far when there will be a de addiction centre for people who are besotted with the internet and social networking sites to be precise. I have also fallen prey to the world of ‘likes’ and ‘shares’. Checking my phone every now and then for a new ‘update’ has led me nowhere. So this year I hereby pledge that I would strive to be present in the real world more than the virtual world.

So, these are some pointers for me and things which I resolve that I will not do this year. Amen…

About Meha Sharma

Well, before I took the plunge to be a mom and be a part of the chaotic yet amusing world of motherhood, I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I never thought I would bid adieu to the life of a full time working professional, but that was before I held the tiny little pink 'thing' in my hands.I am a stay at home mom to a shiny three and a half year old toddler. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

