Are You Working?

“Are you working”? I was asked by someone whom I had met for the very first time. I managed to say yes, I have recently started working. Suddenly, the stranger with whom I was trying to acquaint myself with, looked at me with an expression that said, “You will henceforth be taken seriously and your opinion will have weight”. Ever since, I took a long break from my working career after the birth of my child, I have at innumerable times felt that since I no longer worked professionally, I had stepped some ten ladders down the parameter of “sensibility”. Your employment status certainly showcases as to who are you. It represents you as a matter of fact. But, it should not make you bereft of your individuality. You may be not financially independent but that does not mean that you do not have qualities that make you stand apart from everyone else. Though I strongly believe that women should be educated enough to be financially independent, but whether they want to work or not should be entirely their choice. We should not judge a woman on the basis of her ‘work status’. I have met myriads of women from varied walks of life, who were multi faceted and each one seemed to have one quality or the other which made them individuals par excellence. The fact that they did not work for a living does not as per me make them lesser talented.
Then why do the society at large look at working women with rose colored glasses and fail to accord the same amount of respect for those ‘non –working’ women who are extremely versatile. Many a times, women abandon their careers owing to the demands of the family or do not take up a job in the first place, may be because their skill is not marketable. For me, a woman is an individual who has many aspects to her persona. She deserves to be “ not judged “not just on the basis of cast, creed and religion but also on the basis of her ‘work status’. Do not look down upon her because she is not going out there, she is still a human being with an opinion and a voice that cannot be thwarted.

About Meha Sharma

Dreamer,Writer,Mother,Fauji wife...all while striving to overcome something called 'Procrastination' :) I dabble in writing and write for @huffpostindia, @womensweb , @mycity4kids. I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I now pass on my wisdom to management students. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

