The “Selfie” Generation…

sefie2

“Momma, lets take a selfie”, my three year old daughter said to me animatedly, while I gaped at her flabbergasted. Yes, it took me some time to register that my little girl not only uttered a word which was newly added to the “oxford dictionary” but she also knew what it actually meant. Well, these are the Gen Y kids for you.

They are smart and can monoeuvre electronic gadgets with an ease with which a magician performs various tricks by the sheer circling of his magic wand. I remember that as my child turned two, I was warned by many a parents about the ills of the devices like mobile phones and laptops.

For long I played the stringent mother to my little one and did not let her touch our laptops and tablet. But you know how long can a mother keep up the fence when the child is a toddler(yes the troublesome twos) and often fringing towards ‘gundaism’. One fine day, after playing with two sets of play doughs and celebrating three ‘make believe’ birthday parties, I reached my saturation point. I handed over my tab to my little girl who immediately had a twinkle in her eye (or I was sleep deprived and was just seeing things- lets not digress here).

I was never a big fan of video games as a kid but I scanned through some games that I thought were apt for my daughter and had some sort of educational value attached to them. And bam, to my delight, there were loads of such games. In a few days, my girl, who was just two, could identify shapes and numbers and alphabets. I was triumphant and that teeny weeny parental guilt which lurked somewhere, disappeared in a jiffy.

We are the inhabitants of the twenty first century, wherein, from booking a cab to finding our way to an untrodden destination, we let technology come to our aid. Years from now, technology is for sure going to be more and more embedded in our day to day lives. So, it is good that our children our exposed to it, from a very early age. I agree that as parents we are forever skeptical if our children will get addicted to these technological devices. But, I feel that technology is here and is here to stay. The sooner we come to terms with it the better. It is a newfound challenge for parents( our parents did not have to check whether we are still fiddling with our mobile or browsing the INTERNET). But times are changing and so are our children and so are parenting ways.

I do wonder at times that it was wonderful that I grew up in the nineties when there were no such gigantic distractions in the form of facebook, twitter, youtube and what not. This thought made me feel for today’s kids. I felt that it is incredible as to how they steer their way through these technological distractions. Many a times of course, they will succumb to the joys of playing ‘temple run’ than studying. But by and large they strike a balance. And I believe we as parents should appreciate it.

My daughter is still of that age when I can keep a check as to how long she can use a gadget. She still prefers playing ‘make believe ‘ games with real people than the virtual ones. And that I think is the challenge in front of us, the parents of the Gen Y kids- to allow our kids to be tech savvy but at the same time make them aware that to ‘stand and stare’ and to savour the little things is equally important.It seems a Herculean task but is nevertheless not unattainable. I hope I can accomplish it as my little girl grows. But for now, I should sign off as my girl is downloading another game from the play store app on my tablet (when did she learn to do it...) #aajkalkebachche

“This blogger contest is supported by Kid Social Shell, a unique digital parenting platform with 11 gaming-learning apps. Use it play 3D nursery rhymes, counting number games, shapes games, fun math worksheets, coloring games and more!”

About Meha Sharma

Dreamer,Writer,Mother,Fauji wife...all while striving to overcome something called 'Procrastination' :) I dabble in writing and write for @huffpostindia, @womensweb , @mycity4kids. I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I now pass on my wisdom to management students. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

