Contradictions…

Contradictions are a part and parcel of our lives. You tell someone that lying is not good, but end up lying about how you wake up at six in the morning everyday without fail. You preach that bitching about someone is just not lady like, but when you meet your soul sister, your best friend, gossiping and discussing about other people’s lives, is what you primarily engage in. Hence, proved, that we mortals, do not always practice what we preach.
When it comes to parenting too, I have fathomed over the past few years, we cannot escape contradicting ourselves. And trust me children do not like parents who contradict, who deviate from their ideals at the slightest feeling of discomfort. My three year old, is these days considerably puzzled and is unable to see through our altering sense of right and wrong.
The little girl of mine is quite headstrong (like every woman I tell myself that she got the genes from the husband’s side of the family 🙂 ). When she falls ill (which to our dismay is quite often), the daunting task that we have to undertake is to give her the medicines, the foul smelling syrups which claim to be sweetened for pediatric use (oh really). Now, when all possible means of shoving the medicines failed, we had to employ another method. It involved, me the mom wearing a blanket and pretending to be a monster, while the husband, thrusting the medicine. It sounds hilarious and not appropriate alright, but it seemed to work for us (the child had to get better and for that the medicine had to be given by hook or crook).
This brings me to the first and foremost contradiction that we presented before our daughter. The other day, she challenged me by blurting out, “But you said there are no such things as monsters”. I was of course mum. But, it led me to thinking, that in our bid to get things done, we often present contradictory beliefs.
For hindering the little one from doing something that we do not want them to do, we often resort to phrases like “You are too young to do this”. On the other hand we also say “You are a big boy/girl now, you can do this”. My daughter often exclaims, “But the other day, you said that I am a big girl”.
Is it plausible to raise our children without these conflicting ideals?
I feel that the sense of contradictions should not be so far reaching so that it is deeply ingrained in his/her being. But tiny, harmless ploys can be pulled to get things done. After all, raising a child is one heck of a job, isn’t it?

About Meha Sharma

Dreamer,Writer,Mother,Fauji wife...all while striving to overcome something called 'Procrastination' :) I dabble in writing and write for @huffpostindia, @womensweb , @mycity4kids. I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I now pass on my wisdom to management students. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

