To Mom, with Love..

When I was a kid, back in the nineties, there were many things which I did not notice. As I was growing up, lost in the labyrinths of my girly dreams, I never wondered as to how I was woken up to go to school, how my breakfast was put on the table (without fail for those innumerable years), how I had clothes ironed impeccably and how I carried my lunch box to school , loitering away towards the ‘rickshaw’ forever running late.

Yes, I was oblivious to many a things which were served on a platter to me even before I asked. The one person who was instrumental in providing these along with monumental amount of unconditional love, care, concern and what not, was none other than my mother.

Today as I am in my thirties, and a mother to a toddler, I look back and reminisce those childhood years and yes, this time I notice. I remember those days when my mother woke up early , without fail, to make lunch for me. I remember as to how she cajoled me to wake up and get on with the day. Yes, I can even recount that she did all this and more along with a full time job which required oodles of energy and time on her part. Most importantly I remember to have never seen her complaining of anything which could amount to exhaustion or sheer irritability that comes along while bringing up kids. Most significantly, she mothered me, nurtured me and instilled in me values and made me the person that I am today. Yes, I am completely in awe of her and it seems that I can make better sense of how wonderful a mother she was to me, now that I am a mother myself. And what better occasion to express my gratitude to this phenomenal person , than #Mothers Day.

Today, I strive to do the best I can for my little one. And yes I have my low moments as a mother , but at the end of the day I waddle through ( we all will I am sure ) and get on with this journey and I hope my little girl will one day look back and reminisce these days with a grin on her face. If that happens, I will assume I did something good with her. Till then, well, #EveryDayIsMothersDay šŸ™‚

About Meha Sharma

Well, before I took the plunge to be a mom and be a part of the chaotic yet amusing world of motherhood, I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I never thought I would bid adieu to the life of a full time working professional, but that was before I held the tiny little pink 'thing' in my hands.I am a stay at home mom to a shiny three and a half year old toddler. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

