The Perfect Gift

Mothers’ Day is round the corner, I hear. Its a day when children express their love towards their mothers and thank her for being there for them. News channels are abuzz with new items enumerating a number of gifts that you can present to your mothers which would melt their hearts and moist their eyes. As I watch these happenings, without blinking my eyes, my thoughts rush back to my daughter involuntarily and I think about how each day with her was like a celebration of motherhood, how day after day she filled my life with warmth, love and care. I reminisce the days when she was a little girl clinging on to me looking for comfort and security. Then, she grew up, she grew up to become this wonderful, vivacious and opinionated girl who wanted to make a mark of her own. She wanted to be a doctor. I stood by her side and beamed with pride when she became one. Like any parent, I was overjoyed to see my little girl turn into a confident young doctor. I felt happiness flowing into my house in leaps and bounds from then on. But, destiny played evil and the unforeseen, unimaginable happened. It was something so disastrous, that it shook me and eventually broke me. It was something which I do not want any mother to witness. I can still vividly remember the far away look in her eyes when I saw her lying on that hospital bed two and a half years ago. It seems like yesterday. Yes it does, because time has failed to heal the wounds of this distraught mother. Yes, I am the mother of Nirbhaya, the ‘daughter of India’. As another ‘Mothers’Day ‘ makes its presence felt, I feel a void, a big haunting void in my life. My little girl, who, I protected all those years, could not be protected that fateful December night. Can someone be as monstrous as those men? Oh, how I wish I could go back in time and do something to save my daughter. But I live on. I live on because I have her memories to fall back on. I live on because I want things to change. And I am hopeful that they will. There will come a time when mothers will not feel afraid of the well being of their child at any hour of the day. There will come a time when the mindsets of men will change and women will not be seen as a commodity. Slowly, it may, but the transformation will happen. And yes, that would be the best gift you could give a mother on Mothers Day.

About Meha Sharma

Dreamer,Writer,Mother,Fauji wife...all while striving to overcome something called 'Procrastination' :) I dabble in writing and write for @huffpostindia, @womensweb , @mycity4kids. I worked as a Business Analyst in an elite IT firm and as a professor in management colleges. Having earned an MBA degree in Human Resource Management and an MA degree in English Literature, I now pass on my wisdom to management students. To keep my sanity while striving to be a 'decent' mom to my ever inquisitive daughter, I tell myself, what Winnie the Pooh says,"My favourite day is today" :)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

